A place to clear my head…

Life… Is… Good…

I often wish that I could step outside of myself and see me from someone elses eyes.  See what others see in me.  The idea scares the shit out of me because, as much as we like to say we don’t care what other people think, the truth is we do care.  Acceptance, sadly, is one of the most important things to us.  We want recognition and respect for the things we do.  We want the world to like us, and it crushes our spirit just a little bit when we find out someone may not like us.  I am not immune from this.  I crave acceptance just as much as anyone else does.  I just got home from another 15 hour day of work.  I hurt everywhere, I’m so exhausted I can barely see straight, but I feel good.  I feel proud.  I feel like I’m accomplishing something.  BUT does everyone else around me see how hard I’m trying?  I will shamefully admit that part of my motivation is so someone, anyone will notice and say. “You know what?  I’m really proud of you.”  Through this endless journey of acceptance I have realized a few things.  One of those things is we spend so much of our time obsessing over and trying to change the things we have no control over.  Maybe once in awhile we need to step back and just let life happen.  Stop trying so damn hard all the time.  I know that everything good in life needs to be earned, but if you can’t take a step back and just “be” then how will you be able to enjoy the rewards of your hard work?  The other thing I have come to realize is people are generally very unhappy…  And they have no problems projecting that unhappiness on you and anyone else that will listen.  My advice to people like this is:  As a general rule, people are naturally selfish.  Whatever your problems are, theirs are 100 times worse.  It’s not that we don’t care about your problems, but when we put yours next to ours, it just doesn’t measure up.  And please stop bogging total strangers down with everything that is going wrong in your life at this moment.  When your local gas station cashier asks you how you are, they are asking to be polite.  Because that is what they are paid to do.  Proper protocol here is to smile and say, “I’m good, how are you?”  The point I would like to get across here is simply this:  Find joy in the little things in life.  Even if you feel like the sky is falling, find a reason to smile.  Wake up every day and just decide to be awesome.  It really is that simple.  I started to live my life this way and life has been pretty damn good.  Even with all the bad things.

 

Leave a Reply

